You are here

Jason Addy, Contributing Editor
4:41 am CST March 3, 2020

Voters on the North Shore have about two more weeks to make their voices heard in the 2020 primary election in Illinois.

Early voting opened Monday, March 2, for races at all levels of government. Voters can cast their ballots before the March 17 primary election at any one of dozens of early voting locations throughout Cook County, including Glenview Village Hall, Northbrook Village Hall and the Centennial Ice Rinks in Wilmette.

Dozens of polling locations will be open throughout North Shore communities on March 17.

Those who have not yet registered to vote can do so at grace-period registration locations throughout the North Shore until March 17. Voters can still register to vote on March 17 by visiting their home precincts.

The 2020 primary ballot includes candidates for president, the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the Illinois State Senate and House, and several Cook County offices, as well as referenda and ballot questions in some municipalities.

Voters will also be asked to choose delegates for the Democratic and Republican national conventions, at which both parties will nominate a presidential candidate for the Nov. 3 general election.

Presidential primary

Thirteen candidates for U.S. president are set to appear on the Democratic Party’s 2020 primary ballot in Illinois, though eight of those candidates have already withdrawn from the presidential race.

The five remaining candidates vying for the Democratic nomination, in the order they will appear on the ballot, are: U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders, of Vermont; former Vice President Joe Biden; former New York City Mayor Mike Bloomberg; U.S. Sen. Elizabeth Warren, of Massachusetts; and U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, of Hawaii.

Former presidential candidates Amy Klobuchar, Pete Buttigieg, Cory Booker, Tom Steyer, Deval Patrick, Andrew Yang, Michael Bennet and John Delaney will also be on the ballot, having filed the necessary paperwork before ending their bids.

President Donald Trump is being challenged on the Illinois Republican Party’s 2020 presidential primary ballot by businessman Roque “Rocky” De La Feunte, who is also running for Congress in California.

Democratic voters in Illinois’ 9th U.S. House district will be asked to vote for up to eight delegates from a pool of 41 people to send to the 2020 Democratic National Convention, which is scheduled to be held July 13-16 in Milwaukee. Sanders and Warren each have eight delegates on the ballot, while Biden has six.

In the 10th U.S. House District, Democrats must pick up to five delegates to send to the DNC. Sanders, Warren and Biden each have five delegates on the ballot.

Republican voters in the 9th and 10th U.S. House districts can vote for up to three delegates to send to the Republican National Convention, scheduled for Aug. 24-27 in Charlotte. All three names on each district’s ballot are delegates for Trump.

U.S. Senate

Thirty-three seats in the U.S. Senate are up for grabs in 2020, including that of four-term Sen. Dick Durbin. Durbin is running unopposed for the Illinois Democratic Party’s nomination for six more years in office.

Five candidates are vying for the Republican Party’s nomination to challenge Durbin in the 2020 General Election. The candidates, in the order they will appear on the Republican ballot are: former Lake County Sheriff Mark Curran Jr., Dr. Tom Tarter, real estate executive Casey Chlebek, former police officer Peggy Hubbard and Dr. Robert Marshall.

U.S. House

All of Illinois’ 16 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives are also on the block again this year.

U.S. Reps. Brad Schneider (D-Deerfield) and Jan Schakowsky (D-Evanston) are likely to win their party’s nomination for another term, with Schneider running unopposed in the primary and Schakowsky facing a write-in challenger.

Chicago-based attorney Andrew Heldut is waging a write-in campaign against Schakowsky, who has represented Illinois’ 9th U.S. House District for 11 terms.

Sargis Sangari is the sole candidate seeking the Republican Party’s nomination to challenge the Democratic nominee in November. He came in second to John Elleson for the party’s nomination in 2018.

Though Schneider is running unopposed for the Democratic Party’s nomination for the 10th U.S. House District, he is likely to face multiple challengers in November in the form of Independent Bradley Heinz and Republican Valerie Rameriz Mukherjee, of Winnetka.

Illinois General Assembly

The North Shore’s four representatives in the Illinois House are all running unopposed to keep their seats.

Democratic State Reps. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Robyn Gabel, Jonathan Carroll and Bob Morgan will face no competition for the Democratic Party’s nomination in their districts. Gong-Gershowitz is the only candidate who looks set to face a challenge in November, with Republican Yesoe Yoon also running unopposed in the March primary.

Cook County offices

Incumbent Cook County State’s Attorney Kim Foxx is facing a challenge from three Democratic candidates during the primary. Bill Conway, Bob Fioretti and Donna More have thrown their hats in the ring to unseat Foxx, who is in her first term. Patrick O’Brien and Christopher Pfannkuche are vying for the Republican Party’s nod to face the Democratic nominee in November.

Four candidates — Jacob Meister, Iris Martinez, Richard Boykin and Michael Cabonargi — are vying for the Democratic nomination for Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County, the office currently held by Dorothy Brown. Barbara Ruth Bellar is the sole Republican seeking the office.

Democratic voters will also cast votes in the race for the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District and choose nominees to fill a number of vacancies on the Cook County Circuit Court.

Where to vote early
March 2-16:
• Glenview Village Hall, 2500 E. Lake Ave., Glenview

• Northbrook Village Hall, 1225 Cedar Lane, Northbrook

• Centennial Ice Rinks, 2300 Old Glenview Road, Wilmette